top of page
Search
  • georginacolman76

A Sweet Treat

As you know me and the husband have been doing 'no added sugar' January, he's actually done really well cutting out all the crap he usually puts in his body so I am very proud of him for sticking with it. He was a little naughty and has had a couple of beers but given his job is pretty full on I will let him off that! I don't normally drink much alcohol as it's not good for my body and also is typically full of sugar which is shame as I do like a glass of fizz. However, a couple of months ago I discovered Think - they produce delicious Prosecco that is both vegan and organic and has minimal sugar in each glass. Be warned, they come with a high price tag but for me it allows me to drink something and not feel bad for doing so - a glass of their tasty wine has 62kcal and 0.67g of residual sugar and 0g of carbs (based on a 100ml glass). I was really lucky and got myself one of their Black Friday crate deals so have a lovely supply in my home! Take a look if you are looking for something different that tastes great and won't have you feeling guilty after having a few glasses. I know some people might think wine without sugar will taste awful but honestly just read the reviews on their website and see that I am not alone in thinking it's pretty good.


Hmm Cake....


I wanted to treat Stu to something sweet whilst avoiding sugar so I scoured the Internet and discovered SweetPea Pantry and purchased some of their Apple & Cinnamon Muffin Mix to try. As you can see from the packaging they are Gluten Free, Dairy Free and have no added sugar. You just need to add an egg, oil, honey and water. Mix it all together and stick them in the oven BUT don't make the mistake I did which was forget I had cupcake cases and not muffin ones and hence I should have removed them 5 minutes earlier... don't worry though they still taste good, they just have a burnt top lol!!


They are super easy to make - I used my Kenwood K-Mix - tick all the dietary requirements and taste pretty good considering - it does say you can add extra apple or carrot in - I think I would do that next time just to add some more sweetness to them. I've put husband's in front of him but he's currently on a work call so hasn't tried it yet - he's quite fussy and loves sugar so I wonder whether he will give them the thumbs up!




I am feeling ahead of the game today, I've emptied the dishwasher, done my Bed Build and my BGB Boot Camp exercises, made cupcakes and done some work - I love days like this because I don't feel guilty if I sit and lazy around this evening!


This is a short quick post today just so I could share my new find! Husband has just devoured the cake and said it wasn't bad just a bit tart - I definitely think the extra apple would fix that issue.



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page